RIDGEWHIZ

Lesson 20 - Defensive Guidelines

Defense is the hardest part of bridge. To help new students we have a number of guidelines
that are right about 75% of the time. As you gain experience playing bridge you will start to
understand when these guidelines should not be followed.

Guideline 1: Second hand low

Remember that declarer cannot see the cards you hold. Frequently declarer may have a choice
of cards to play, and may go wrong. By playing a low card you give declarer a chance to go
wrong and give your partner a chance to win the trick.

Example 1.1: Dummy leads the spade 3.

Dummy

Q53
4K972 4A106

4)84
If you play the #A (high) declarer is guaranteed to win a spade trick with either the #Q or #J. If
you play second hand low (the #6), declarer cannot win a spade trick, the defense will take all
four spade tricks.

Example 1.2: Dummy leads the heart 3
Dummy
vQs53

vJjo974 YA102
vK86

If you play the YA (high) declarer is guaranteed to win two heart tricks with the YK and ¥Q. If
you play second hand low declarer will only win one heart trick.



Guideline 2: Splitting Honors as 2" hand — play the lower of two touching
honors

When you hold touching honors and you are playing before a higher honor in dummy it is often
right to split your honors to promote a trick. When you split honors you play the lower ranking
one to help partner understand the situation. If dummy does not have a higher honor, or if you
are playing before declarer, you should revert to guideline 1 and play low.

Example 2.1: Declarer leads the club 4
®A105
&QJ82 &763

&KO4

If you play low declarer may play the #T from dummy and win 3 club tricks. If you play the #J it
forces the ®A and guarantees a club trick for the defense.

Example 2.2: Declarer leads the #3 from dummy
Dummy

&763
&954 &QJ82
& AK10

You do not know what honors declarer is holding, so “second hand low” is best. True you can
play the Jack to force the #K but later declarer can finesse your queen. Better to make declarer
guess how to play.

Guideline 3: "Cover an Honor with an Honor" is usually correct, but only if you
have a chance to create a trick for your side.

Example 3.1: Declarer leads the #J from dummy.

)96
10832 aK74
4AQ5

If you play low declarer will finesse again and win 3 spade tricks. If you cover the Jack with the
King (cover an honor with an honor) partner’s ten will win the third trick. Here since you

cannot see who holds the # T, it is right to cover the honor.



Example 3.2: Declarer leads the ¥Q from dummy.

valJT
v10863 YK52
YA7

In this case, if you cover the YQ with the YK you can see declarer’s ¥J and T in dummy are
winners. Covering can not promote a trick for the defense. If you just play low twice, declarer

will be forced to play the YA and your YK will control the suit. You can’t know that declarer will
be forced to play the YA, but it is your only hope.

Guideline 4: When partner leads low, 3™ hand should play high when dummy
has all low cards

When partner leads a small card and there are only small cards in dummy play your highest
honor card, unless you have an honor sequence. When you have an honor sequence play the
lowest card of in the sequence. Playing the lowest card of an honor sequence is important to
help partner understand where the high cards are. You can use dummy’s cards in your honor
sequence! Since you will always play after dummy, you will know what card to play. You play
high for two reasons:

1. You may win the trick for your side.

2. You may force declarer to play a higher honor, and setup an honor card in your

partner’s hand.

Example 4.1: Playing your top honor when there is no honor in dummy

#4853
4K1742 4A6
Q109

When you play the #A, you win the trick and can then lead a spade through declarer’s hand. This
enables partner to cash four more spade tricks.

Example 4.2: Playing your top honor when there is no honor in dummy

v75
vyQ1083 ¥YK942
YAJ6

Defending against a spade contract partner leads the ¥3 — play the ¥K forcing the YA from
declarer. When you later gain the lead you can lead the ¥2 and the defense will win 3 heart
tricks.



Example 4.3: Playing the lowest of equal honors
832

¢+K1075 +QJ4
¢A96

Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the 45 - play the ¢J, when declarer
wins the ¢A, partner will know you have the ¢Q (otherwise why didn’t declarer win with the
+Q?) If you play the #Q it denies holding the ¢J, so partner will think declarer has the ¢)J.

Example 4.4: Playing the lowest of equal honors

¢J32
+K875 +Q104

¢A96
Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the 5 and declarer plays the ¢2 you
should play the ¢T. When the 4J of diamonds is not played then the ¢Q and ¢T are equals so
the #T is the lowest of touching honors. If dummy plays the ¢J you cover with the ¢Q (honor
covers an honor).

Guideline 5: When partner leads low, 3™ hand should play a lower honor when

dummy has an honor you can cover

When dummy has a high card that you can beat, only play your high honor when declarer plays
the high card from dummy. If declarer plays low in dummy, it is usually better to play a lower
honor card, and save your highest honor to cover dummy’s honor.

Example 5.1: Saving a higher honor when there is an honor in dummy
&Q75

&K983 SAJ2
1064

Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the #3 and Declarer plays the #5
from dummy — play the #J. Save your #A to play when declarer plays the #Q from dummy. By
playing this way the defense will take all 4 club tricks on the layout above. If instead you play
the #A, the defense will only take 3 club tricks.

Example 5.2: Saving a higher honor when there is an honor in dummy
)53

4Q1072 4K96
aA87

Defending against a suit contract your partner, West, leads the 42 and declarer plays the 43.

You should play the 49, saving the #K to cover the #J. The #9 is not quite an honor, but you
should treat it as such in this case.



Guideline 6: When partner leads a low card use the Rule of Eleven

When partner leads 4™ best subtract that card from 11. The result will be the number of cards
in dummy, your hand, and declarer's hand that are higher than the card led. Whenever partner
leads a low card, you should do this calculation.

Example 6.1 Using the rule of 11

YK72
v¥Q1086 YAJO93
v54

Partner leads the ¥6. Using the rule of 11, you know there are 5 cards higher (11 -6=5) than the
6 in dummy, your hand and declarer’s hand. Since you can see the AKJ 9 7 in dummy and your
hand, you know declarer has only lower hearts! Play the ¥3 to leave partner on lead.

Example 6.2 Using the rule of 11
+Q94

¢+10875 ¢AJ6
*K32

Partner leads the ¢5. You know there are 6 cards higher (11-5=6) than the 5 in dummy, your
hand and declarer’s hand. Since you can see the A QJ 9 6, you know declarer has only one card
higher, play the #6 declarer’s higher card is likely to be the ¢K.

Guideline 7: When partner leads an honor play a high spot card to encourage
partner to continue the suit, play a low spot card when you have no help in the
suit. If you have an honor with shortness in the suit, overtake (or unblock).

Example 7.1 Unblocking an honor

853
&QJ1074 K2

S#A96
Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the #Q. You should play #K to keep
from blocking the % suit. If you play the #2, declarer will duck the first trick, and then when
you play the #K on the second trick, declarer will duck again and then you can no longer
continue clubs. If instead you play the #K on the first trick, south will most likely hold up his #A,
and then you can continue with the #2 which allows partner to win the trick (assuming declarer
again holds up the #A). Your partner can then continue with a third round of clubs clearing the
suit.



Example 7.2 Unblocking an honor

&#A53
&QJ1074 & K2

»986
Defending against a notrump contract your partner, West, leads the #Q. Declarer plays the #A
from dummy. You should unblock by playing the #K underneath dummy's #A. If you do not,
then you will be forced to win the second round of clubs and will not be able to continue the
suit. By unblocking your partner will win the second round of clubs and can continue the suit.

Example 7.3 Signaling encouragement

#3853
&QJ94 SK72

&AT6
Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the #Q. You should play #7 to
encourage partner. If declarer ducks the first trick, partner can continue clubs by leading the
&4, and now you can play the #K. If declarer ducks a second time, you can finally play your &2
which clears the club suit for partner. You would also signal encouragement holding the #T.
Remember when partner leads an honor; it is an honor sequence (QJT or QJ9).

Example 7.4 Signaling discouragement

K53
&QJ94 »872

&AT6
Defending against a notrump contract your partner leads the #Q. You should play %2 to
discourage partner. Assuming declarer wins the first trick, partner will know that a club
continuation must come from your side since declarer must have the #A and #T.



